Member Account Access   
You are here:  Home  ›  About Imet   ›  Board of Trustees  

Board of Trustees

The Illinois Metropolitan Investment Fund (IMET) is governed by an eight member Board of Trustees that have full control over the business and affairs of the Fund and the Fundís assets, subject to the rights of the Participants as provided by the Declaration of Trust. The names and affiliations of the Trustees are set forth below.

Name Office Affiliation
Geneva Park District
Village of Bloomingdale
Village of Minooka
City of St. Charles
Village of Buffalo Grove
Village of Plainfield

Christy Powell - Chairman

Christy Powell is the current Superintendent of Finance and Personnel for the Geneva Park District. Before joining the Geneva Park District in 2006, Christy was the Director of Finance and Village Treasurer for the Village of Riverside. She has also served as the Assistant Finance Director for the Village of Oak Park and previously served as an Accountant for the City of Peoria. Christy is a Certified Public Accountant. She holds a Master's degree in Public Administration from Northern Illinois University and a Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting and Finance from Oklahoma State Univeristy. Christy has been a member of the Illinois Government Finance Officers Association (IGFOA) and the national GFOA since 1997. From 2004-2006, Christy filled a vacancy on the IMET Board that was created by the resignation of former IMET Chair Grace Turi of Western Springs. Beginning in 2008, Christy rejoined the IMET Board as an elected member at large and currently serves as the Chariman and as a member of IMET's New Products Committee.


Gary Szott - Treasurer

Gary Szott is the Finance Director/Treasurer for the Village of Bloomingdale, having held this position since May of 1991. Prior to this, he had attained the Assistant Finance Director position for the City of Wheaton after working in various other capacities for Wheaton since 1985. He is a Certified Public Accountant, a Certified Public Finance Officer and holds a Bachelors Degree in Accounting from Rockford College, Rockford, IL. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), the Illinois Society of Certified Public Accountants (ICPAS), the Governmnent Finance Officer Association of the United States and Canada (GFOA) and the Illinois Government Finance Officer Association (IGFOA). He has served as Chair of the Intergovernmental Risk Management Agency (IRMA) and has served as Chair and committeee member of IRMA's Finance and Administration Committee. He is a Past President of IGFOA and has served IGFOA in a number of various other capacities including leading the IGFOA's Career Development Revenue team in developing and providing educational seminars for its members. Mr. Szott has been a speaker and made presentations at IGFOA, Illinois Municipal League and DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference seminars and conferences.


John Harrington - Secretary

John Harrington joined the Village of Minooka as the Finance Director in January 2007 and brings over twenty-four years of accounting experience. Prior to joining the Village, he was the Controller of the Housing Authority of the County of Cook and an audit manager for the accounting firm BDO Seidman, LLP in Chicago. He received a B.S. degree in Accounting from North Central College in Naperville and is a CPA. He is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), the Illinois CPA Society (ILCPA), Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA), the Illinois Government Finance Officers Association and the Illinois Municipal Treasurer's Association (IMTA). John is serving as the President of the South Metro Chapter of the IGFOA and on the IGFOA's membership committee. He also serves on the IMTA board and the Grundy County Chamber board.   


Chris Minick - Trustee

Chris Minick is currently the Finance Director for the City of St Charles, Illinois and has served in this capacity since April of 2008.  Chris has over 20 years' experience in municipal accounting and finance.  Prior to his tenure in St Charles, Chris served as the Village Administrator and Director of Management Services for the Village of Plainfield, Illinois.  Chris also served as the Senior Accountant for the Wheeling Park District for approximately two years.  He began his career performing audits of local governmental units for CPA firms in the Chicago region and spent approximately six years performing various financial statement and compliance audits for units of government in Illinois.  Chris has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Accounting and Finance from St. Joseph's College in Rensselaer, IN.  He has served as the Chairman for the Southwest Agency for Risk Management (SWARM, a municipal risk insurance pool), Chairman for the Southwest Agency for Health Management (a municipal health insurance pool), the Membership Committee of the Intergovernmental Personnel Benefits Cooperative, and the Chairman of the Audit Committee for the Illinois Government Finance Officers Association. 

Chris serves as the Chairman of the New Products Committee.


Scott Anderson - Trustee

Scott Anderson is the Finance Director/Treasurer for the Village of Buffalo Grove, Illinois. He has held this position since 2006. Prior to being appointed he had been the Assistant Finance Director at Buffalo Grove sine 1999. He has a B. S. in Political Science from Arizona State Univeristy and a Masters in Public Administration (Fiscal Administration) from Northern Illinois University. Professional memberships include the Government Finance Officers Association(GFOA) and the Illinois Government Finance Officers Association (IGFOA). He is a member of the Executive Board of IGFOA.


Brian Murphy - Trustee

Brian Murphy is Village Administrator for the Village of Plainfield, Illinois, having served in the position since 2009. He has over 20 years of experience in Public Administration and prior to his position in Plainfield, served as the Assistant City Manager in Troy, MI; the Village Manager in Beverly Hills, MI; and the City Manager in Belding, MI. Brian has a Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Michigan. 

Brain has been actively involved in ICMA since 1993 and served on the Government Affairs and Policy Committee from 2006-2008; spoke at the 2004 and 2008 conferences; and was a moderator at the 2005 and 2011 conferences. In 2007, he was honored to receive the Excellence in Local Government Award from the Michigan Local Government Management Association (MLGMA). Brian is also a member of the Illinois City/County Management Association (ILCMA) and the International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC).



About Us   :   Membership   :   Services   :   Financials   :   News   :   Help Desk   :   Site Map   :   Disclaimer   :   Contact Us Web Design by The Z Plane, LLC